Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation
District 13 Durham


District 13 OSSTF represents approximately 1450 permanent and 740 occasional teachers along with over 100 Professional Student Services Personnel in Durham region. Our union provides services to its members to protect them in their work and to enhance their professionalism through professional development workshops, health and safety training, collective agreement in-servicing and regular communications and public relations highlighting the teachers in our schools.

District 13 Office Hours During the School Closure

The District Office is following advice regarding social distancing. As such, the office will not be open during the school closure. We are still working and available for Members however. Please visit the contact page of our website for information on how to reach us.


OTBU Members and the COVID-19 School Closure

Information for OTBU members during the COVID-19 school closure can be found by visiting the OTBU link in the main menu of the District 13 OSSTF website.

TBU and District Annual Meeting - May 7, 2020

The 2020 District Annual Meeting is scheduled to be held on Thursday, May 7, 2020 at 4:00pm. This year the event will take place at the Ajax Convention Centre, 550 Beck Crescent, Ajax, ON L1Z 1C9.

Nominations for all elected positions must be received by the District Office no later than April 9, 2020.

Attachment: Nomination Form
Note: If circumstances due to the Coronavirus and social distance prevent you from submitting a paper nomination form please contact district13@d13.osstf.ca for assistance arranging an alternate submission of nomination.

More details regarding the District Annual Meeting can be found in the February and March editions of Inprint which can be found under the Publications menu item at the top of this page.

Result of Election for TBU and District President

At a District Council meeting on January 21st, Shane Stagg was elected as TBU and District President.

Deceiving Divas Event - April 24, 2020

The Decieving Divas Event has been postponed until further notice. Ticket purchases will be refunded.

Participating in the Push-Back Against Cuts to Public Education

There are a variety of ways that people can participate in the push-back. Calls and emails to MPPs are a way to be heard. A visit to www.hereforstudents.ca will offer a number of resources to stay informed and an online form to assist with contacting politicians. As well, OSSTF’s Facebook, Twitter and Instagram accounts provide plenty of content that can be shared with your social networks to get the word out. Details on bargaining can be found at bargainingforeducation.ca; the information available here will assist with conversation with neighbors, relatives and friends. 

Educators Financial AB/ABQ Bursary


The application form can be downloaded by clicking here: D13 Educators Bursary Application

Walk into Retirement with a Plan

Click the image
to view the poster.

Collective Bargaining

The collective bargaining process is outlined in the School Board Collective Bargaining Act and the Labour Relations Act. As steps are made toward negotiating a collective agreement progress will be shown here.

Click the image
for a full size view


Active Retired Members

Retired members can continue their OSSTF involvement
though membership with Active Retired Members.
Please click on the image to visit the website. 


The Ontario Secondary School Teachers’ Federation supports all of the recommendations put forward in the report from the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada. In particular, OSSTF/FEESO endorses all of the recommendations related to improving educational opportunities for all First Nations, Métis and Inuit (FNMI) Canadians, and the need to better educate all Canadians about the history and impact of residential schools.