Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation
District 13 Durham

Human Rights


  • To provide a forum for the discussion of issues pertaining to the provision and maintenance of a working environment free from harassment.
  • To help prevent harassment by working towards the elimination of discrimination.
  • To educate the school community and raise awareness of the types of incidents of behaviour which may be offensive, embarrassing, humiliating and/or patronizing and which deny individuals dignity and respect.
  • To create safer schools by working to eliminate poisoned environments associated with discrimination by dispelling the stereotypes, myths, and negative ideas that are part of these poisoned environments.
  • To increase awareness of human rights issues amongst our members.


Think, Speak, Act – Stop Bullying Pink T-Shirts

OSSTF members take seriously their responsibilities to address all forms of bullying and harassment in our schools and workplaces. Pink Shirt Day on February 27th 2019, and Day of Pink on April 10th, 2019 provide opportunities to take positive action to end bullying, homophobia and transphobia, while celebrating diversity.



One per month, usually the third Monday of each month at the District Office at 4:30 p.m. Check the website for more information.

2020-2021 meeting dates: Oct. 19, Nov. 16, Dec. 14, Jan. 18, Feb. 22, Mar. 22, Apr. 19, May 17, Jun. 14.

Duties of the School Representatives

Co-ordinate school-based GSA groups.

Work with committee members to determine priorities and events at the school level and district wide, e.g. Day of Silence, Anti-Homophobia Day, LGBT Heroes, etc.

Attend monthly District 13 Human Rights/GSA committee meetings.

Support staff professional development.

Committee Members



Mary Humphrys Ajax

Donna Haw


Alex Therrien Branch 18
Dawn O'Neill Brooklin
Brigitte Van De Laar Con Ed

Garrett Metcalfe

Centre for Success/Co-Chair

Lee-Anne Corrigan DASS

Jennifer Young


Nathan Lowe-Spicer

Linda Burkholder


Art Hanke             

Henry Street

David Martin

Maxwell Heights

Melissa Waddington


Paul Scanga


Matt Thomas

Andrea Anderson

Pine Ridge

Sophia Cal
Port Perry

Caitlin Twitchin / Mike Capotosto


Helen Frizzell

Julie Gladman


Jeff Grujicich


Michael Hook


Andrea Malyon PSSP

Ruth Leone

District Office

Safe Space Poster

Download PDF here.