Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation
District 13 Durham
    Events and Conferences
    « » July 2019
    Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5 6
    7 8 9 10 11 12 13
    14 15 16 17 18 19 20
    21 22 23 24 25 26 27
    28 29 30 31

    There are no events in this month


District 13 OSSTF represents approximately 1450 permanent and 220 occasional teachers along with over 100 Professional Student Services Personnel in Durham region. Our union provides services to its members to protect them in their work and to enhance their professionalism through professional development workshops, health and safety training, collective agreement in-servicing and regular communications and public relations highlighting the teachers in our schools.

June 7 - Power Break Video

June 7 marked the one year anniversary of the election of the Doug Ford government in Ontario. The Ontario Federation of Labour planned a number of Days of Action events across the province.

Worksites were asked to participate in a “Power Break” as part of OSSTF/FEESO-specific Power of Many actions. To support the recognition of the day, President Bischof recorded a short two minute video message for members.

Click the image to
view the video on


Durham and Toronto Pride

The Durham Pride Parade took place on
Sunday June 2. 

Toronto Pride Parade

Sunday, June 23


PC MPP Rallies

The Ford Government’s announcement on March 15th will be devastating to public education if it is implemented.

OSSTF is holding province-wide information/protest rallies on Fridays outside our local PC MPP offices. The goal is to inform our local MPP of the disastrous impact cuts to education will have on our public education system and to implore them to tell Doug Ford to stop any further cuts to education.

With the Ford government indicating that consultations on class sizes and Regulation 274 are open until May 31, it is imperative that we continue outlining our vehement opposition to the government’s announcements. We need to make sure that individual PC MPPs know how reckless and ill advised the Ford education plan is.

All TBU, OTBU, PSSP OSSTF members and allies are welcome! The rallies will take place at the following locations:

Friday April 26th Lorne Coe (PC) 114 Dundas St E, Whitby, ON, L1N 2H7 (3:30-5:00)
Friday May 3rd Lindsey Park (PC) 23 King St. W, Bowmanville, ON, L1C 1R2 (4:00-5:30)
Friday May 10th Peter Bethlenfalvy (PC) 1550 Kingston Rd #213, Pickering, ON, L1V 1C3 (3:00-4:30)
**Friday May 24th Rod Phillips (PC) 1 Rossland Rd W Suite 209, Ajax, ON, L1Z 1Z2 (3:30-5:00)
**Note the Rod Phillips Rally date has been changed to May 24th. It was originally scheduled for the 17th.

Response from DDSB Trustees Regarding Ministry Announcements

Durham trustees have sent a strong message to the Ministry about the devastating effects the proposed changes will have on public education. 

The letter can be viewed by clicking here. We will also be sharing a link to the letter through Facebook and Twitter.

District Annual Meeting

The district annual meeting was held on Thursday, May 2nd. The results of voting for elected positions are as follows:

District and TBU President - Lamia Sabbagh
1st Vice President - Erin Crawford
2nd Vice President - Garrett Metcalfe
3rd Vice President - Richard McCormack
4th Vice President - Rob Walker
Treasurer - Nicole Bléau
Secretary - Ruth Kam
Additional TBU Provincial Councillor - Nicole Bléau

AMPA Delegates: George Chaktsiris, Erin Crawford, Ryan Gordon, Art Hanke, Jacqueline Hill, Jason Himsl, Ruth Kam, Ryan Kelly, Richard McCormack, Garrett Metcalfe, Shane Stagg, Paul Wayling


Rally for Education

Thank you to all who attended the rally on April 6th.  Thousands of education workers arrived to protest the proposed cuts to education by the government. 



QR Code and Reusable Water Bottles

Reusable water bottles have arrived.

They include a QR code which directs visitors to our Mobilization Page.

They will be offered at District events.


OSSTF District 13 Information Rally, Feb 7, 2019

The Ford Government intends to cut 4% from the Ontario budget. For public education, that would mean a cut of approximately $1 billion.

On Thursday, February 7th OSSTF held very successful province-wide information rally's outside local MPP offices. The goal was to inform our local MPP of the disastrous impact cuts to education will have on our public education system and to implore them to tell Doug Ford to stop any further cuts to education.



Active Retired Members

Retired members can continue their OSSTF involvement
though membership with Active Retired Members.
Please click on the image to visit the website. 

Make sure to sign onto the Charter for Public Education at http://www.onepublicsystem.ca


The Ontario Secondary School Teachers’ Federation supports all of the recommendations put forward in the report from the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada. In particular, OSSTF/FEESO endorses all of the recommendations related to improving educational opportunities for all First Nations, Métis and Inuit (FNMI) Canadians, and the need to better educate all Canadians about the history and impact of residential schools.