Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation
District 13 Durham


Duties of the District 13 Executive

Bylaw IV, Section 8 of the District 13 Constitution outlines the duties of the District Executive as follows:

It shall be the duty of the District 13 Executive:

a) to promote within the District the objects of the OSSTF Constitution;

b) to meet before all District meetings and at other times at the call of the President or at the written request of two or more Members of the Executive;

c) to appoint or arrange for the annual appointment or annual election of a chairperson and/or co-chairperson of standing committees, and to provide for such other committees as from time to time may be deemed necessary;

d) to make arrangements for meetings of the District Council and District Membership;

e) to report to the District Members at their District Annual Meeting;

f) to give full consideration to any recommendation from the District Council;

g) to carry out the instructions of the District Annual Meeting;

h) to instruct the Bargaining Unit Presidents, Additional Bargaining Unit Provincial Councillor(s) and District Delegates to the Provincial Assembly on matters to come before the Provincial Council and Provincial Assembly;

i) to deal with matters which, in its opinion, require action between meetings of the District Membership and District Council;

j) to keep the District Members informed of its activities;

k) to appoint a successor to complete the unexpired term of anyone elected or appointed to the District, except those Members of the District Executive holding positions which are normally filled through elections at the District Annual Meeting, provided that the unexpired term does not extend beyond the next District Annual Meeting;

l) to appoint Alternate District Delegates to the Provincial Assembly and substitutes for District representatives or Delegates who are unable to act;

m) to authorize payment of expenses and accounts incurred in the conduct of approved business of the District;

n) to inform the Provincial Executive of any alleged unprofessional conduct within the District;

o) to inform the Provincial Executive of any matter adversely affecting the welfare of the federation or one or more of its Members;

p) to refer to the Provincial Executive or its representatives all questions requiring legal advice;

q) to appoint Executive Officers in accordance with BYLAW VIII;

r) to ensure that the District 13 Anti-Harassment and Anti-Bullying Policy is established;

s) to ensure that the District 13 Anti-Harassment and Anti-Bullying Policy and Procedure is followed at all OSSTF District 13 workplaces, meetings and functions;

t) to adjust, if needed, and approve the District Budget prepared by the District Treasurer.

2020-2021 Executive



Shane Stagg

President, Provincial Councillor, EPAC Chair, Constitution Committee Co-Char,

Ruth Kam

Constitution Committee Co-Chair, Secretary

Nicole Bléau

Executive Officer, Treasurer, Benefits Officer

Avril Burns

OTBU President

Garrett Metcalfe

1st VP, HR Co-chair

Kathie Harris

H&S Chair


Executive Officer, Chief Negotiator (CBC Chair), Additional TBU Provincial Councillor

George Chaktsiris

2nd  VP, Communications Chair

Richard McCormack
Executive Officer
Julia McCrea 4th VP, PD Chair

Danielle Hunter

PRC Chair

Adam Mercer

EPAC Co-chair

Melissa Waddington
HR Co-chair

Rob Walker

3rd VP

Kristen Bennett PSSP President

Meeting Dates

Executive Meetings take place one afternoon per month at 4:15 p.m followed by District Council at 7:00 p.m.

Executive members also attend ad hoc Extended Council and additional Executive meetings on an as-needed basis.

Meeting dates for 2020-2021: Sept. 17 & 18 (Planning Session), Oct. 27, Nov. 24, Dec. 15, Jan. 26, Feb. 23, Mar. 30, Apr. 27, May 25, Jun. 22.