Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation
District 13 Durham


District 13 OSSTF represents approximately 1450 permanent and 740 occasional teachers along with over 100 Professional Student Services Personnel in Durham region. Our union provides services to its members to protect them in their work and to enhance their professionalism through professional development workshops, health and safety training, collective agreement in-servicing and regular communications and public relations highlighting the teachers in our schools.

Call for Proposals

Please note that the 'Call for Proposals' for our November 12, 2021 PD Day is now open.

Our OSSTF/DDSB joint PD Day will be held on November 12th, 2021. The theme for this year is "Recovery, Resilience and Revitalization" with a focus on curriculum and/or wellness. We encourage you to be a presenter. Presenters design workshops dedicated to the theme, however, all curriculum related workshops can be submitted for consideration.

At this time, workshops for this day are anticipated to be in person, however, presenters should consider how their workshop could be delivered through a virtual platform if the need arises. The deadline for submissions will be Thursday, September 30, 2021.

The proposal application can be downloaded here.

D13 OSSTF Caring for the Community

District 13 OSSTF supports our community with our Public Relations Committee initiatives and events, working with community partners. The committee also provides sponsorships and arranges media messages. The objectives of the PRC include:

-To promote the positive contributions of Teachers and Professional Student Services Personnel to their students and the community.
-To keep the public aware of issues that directly affect public education.
-To boost the morale of the membership, through advertising and special events.
-To build allies within the community to collectively advocate for publicly funded education.

More details of the activities of the PRC including pictures of initiatives over the last year can be viewed by opening the slideshow available at the following link:

D13 OSSTF Caring for the Community Slideshow

2021 District Annual Meeting (DAM)

The 2021 District Annual Meeting was held virtually on Thursday, May 6, 2021. The evenings agenda included a recognition of our new members, our retirees, our District executive and our branch representatives. We also took the opportunity to award Harvey Bischof, provincial OSSTF president, with the District 13 Award of Merit. The house conducted the business of the house which consisted of resolutions to the District constitution and elections for District executive positions. The results for the district positions are as follows:

District and TBU President: Shane Stagg
1st District VP: Garrett Metcalfe
2nd District VP: George Chaktsiris
3rd District VP: Robert Walker
4th District VP: Julia McCrea
Secretary: Ruth Kam
Treasurer: Nicole Bléau
Additional TBU Provincial Councillor: Ryan Kelly

TBU AMPA Delegates: Nicole Bléau, George Chaktsiris, Art Hanke, Jason Himsl, Ryan Kelly, Richard McCormack, Garrett Metcalfe, Paul Wayling

Active Retired Members

Retired members can continue their OSSTF involvement
though membership with Active Retired Members.
Please click on the image to visit the website. 


The Ontario Secondary School Teachers’ Federation supports all of the recommendations put forward in the report from the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada. In particular, OSSTF/FEESO endorses all of the recommendations related to improving educational opportunities for all First Nations, Métis and Inuit (FNMI) Canadians, and the need to better educate all Canadians about the history and impact of residential schools.