Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation
District 13 Durham


District 13 OSSTF represents approximately 1450 permanent and 740 occasional teachers along with over 100 Professional Student Services Personnel in Durham region. Our union provides services to its members to protect them in their work and to enhance their professionalism through professional development workshops, health and safety training, collective agreement in-servicing and regular communications and public relations highlighting the teachers in our schools.

Ratified TBU Local Collective Agreement

We are pleased to announce that the membership and the DDSB Board of Trustees have ratified the collective agreement. 

A ratified local agreement will prompt compensation increases as part of the terms from the central agreement. These compensation increases will be in the form of a retroactive payment that will occur over two pay cycles and is anticipated to arrive on December 31 and January 14th. There is an increase of 1% retroactive to September 2019, and a 1% increase back to September 2020.

Once an updated collective agreement is produced it will be posted on our website.

District 13 - AQ/ABQ Bursary


DAM 2020

The 2020 District Annual Meeting (DAM) was held on November 30th. This November meeting came as a result of the postponement of the annual meeting in May. The meeting ran virtually through Zoom. The business conducted during the meeting included the receiving of committee reports along with constitutional changes to the District and TBU constitutions. Elections were able to be completed in the spring and were not be held during this meeting.

The meeting began with a District portion which was open to all members of District 13 including TBU, OTBU and PSSP members. After the conclusion of District business we moved on to TBU business.

COVID-19 Absence Scenarios

Please visit this link to view the steps to take if you may have a potential exposure or symptoms.

Joint OSSTF/DDSB February 12th PD Day - Call for Proposals

Attention members: District 13 OSSTF and the Durham District School Board have mutually agreed to move the joint OSSTF/DDSB PD day to February 12, 2021.

Please note that our 'Call for Proposals' for our February 12th PD Day is now open.

Our OSSTF/DDSB joint PD Day will be held on February 12th, 2020. The theme for this year's session is "Allies Together" with a focus on equity and diversity. Presenters are encouraged to offer workshops dedicated to the theme however all curriculum related workshops can be submitted for consideration.

Proposals for workshops are now being accepted and the deadline for submissions is November 30th. The proposal form and other information can be found at www.d13.osstf.ca/CallForProposals.

Student Achievement Awards 2021


OSSTF/FEESO is pleased to announce the opening of the annual Student Achievement Awards. This year, our Student Achievement Awards theme is “Kindness is a Renewable Resource.” Two bilingual posters and information documents were delivered to each workplace in September to promote both the $1,000 provincial prizes and this year’s theme. Included in each package sent to workplaces was an infographic outlining the application process and a student announcement template to generate interest in the school.

We are encouraging students with the support of an OSSTF/FEESO member who has worked directly with them, to submit an original piece of writing, visual art or media based on this year’s theme, Kindness is a Renewable Resource.

Schools must submit their winning entries to local district offices no later than November 20, 2020. District Offices will then submit their winning pieces to the Provincial Office by December 8, 2020. Finally, provincial winners will be acknowledged and celebrated virtually in 2021.

Guidelines and entry forms for the Student Achievement Awards are available online at http://www.osstf.on.ca/studentachievementawards.

For more information, please contact Tracey Marshall, at (416) 751-8300 or 1 (800) 267-7867, or by email at student.achievement.awards@osstf.ca

Help Advocate for a Safe Reopening of Schools in September

The challenges our schools will face this year are unprecedented in Ontario’s education history. Join thousands of Ontarians coming together to demand a real plan that protects our students and educators.

Please visit Here For Students @ hereforstudents.ca to take action and demand a safe return to school for September. #SafeSeptember


OSSTF/FEESO Condemns all Acts of Anti-Black Hate, Racism and Discrimination

The Ontario Secondary School Teachers’ Federation (OSSTF/FEESO) offers our solidarity with the Black members we represent, students we work with, as well as staff members who work for the union. We condemn all acts of anti-Black hate, racism and discrimination.

The outrage, fear and pain that many in the Black community are experiencing because you do not feel safe, is clear. As an education and labour community, we must stand together and speak up when people are facing violence and discrimination because of their skin colour.

As an organization, we reaffirm our commitment to end anti-Black oppressions. We will continue to work to identify and address systemic discrimination and racism in publicly-funded education. We will continue to create space for these conversations to take place in our union and in our communities.

We will listen. We will learn. We will act. We must do our part in the work for racial justice and equality.

2020/2021 District 13 OSSTF Executive and Delegates for AMPA 2021 

The members of our District 13 executive for the 2020/2021 school year are as follows:

District and TBU President - Shane Stagg
Occasional Teachers Bargaining Unit President - Avril Burns
Professional Student Services Personnel President - Jennifer Seif
1st Vice President - Erin Crawford
2nd Vice President - Garrett Metcalfe
3rd Vice President - Richard McCormack
4th Vice President - Rob Walker
Treasurer - Nicole Bléau
Secretary - Laura Michaluk
Additional TBU Provincial Councillor - Ryan Kelly
Collective Bargaining Committee Chair - Ryan Kelly
Constitution Committee Co-Chairs - Shane Stagg and Ruth Kam
Communications Committee Chair - George Chaktsiris
Education and Political Action Committee Chair - Shane Stagg
Health and Safety Committee Chair - Kathie Harris
Human Rights Committee Co-Chairs - Garrett Metcalfe and Melissa Wadidngton
Professional Development Committee Chair - Richard McCormack
Public Relations Committee Chair - Danielle Hunter

As well, the following members are delegates for AMPA 2021

TBU Delegates:
Nicole Bleau, George Chaktsiris, Tom Dias, Art Hanke, Jacqueline Hill, Jason Himsl, Danielle Hunter, Ryan Kelly, Richard McCormack, Stephanie McMahon, Garrett Metcalfe, Shane Stagg, Matt Thomas, Paul Wayling and Jennifer Young.

OTBU Delegates:
Avril Burns, Mara Zalcmanis, Dick Woudenberg

PSSP Delegate:
Jennifer Seif

Active Retired Members

Retired members can continue their OSSTF involvement
though membership with Active Retired Members.
Please click on the image to visit the website. 


The Ontario Secondary School Teachers’ Federation supports all of the recommendations put forward in the report from the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada. In particular, OSSTF/FEESO endorses all of the recommendations related to improving educational opportunities for all First Nations, Métis and Inuit (FNMI) Canadians, and the need to better educate all Canadians about the history and impact of residential schools.