Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation
District 13 Durham
    Events and Conferences
    « » August 2020
    Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    2 3 4 5 6 7 8
    9 10 11 12 13 14 15
    16 17 18 19 20 21 22
    23 24 25 26 27 28 29
    30 31

    There are no events in this month


District 13 OSSTF represents approximately 1450 permanent and 740 occasional teachers along with over 100 Professional Student Services Personnel in Durham region. Our union provides services to its members to protect them in their work and to enhance their professionalism through professional development workshops, health and safety training, collective agreement in-servicing and regular communications and public relations highlighting the teachers in our schools.

OSSTF/FEESO Condemns all Acts of Anti-Black Hate, Racism and Discrimination

The Ontario Secondary School Teachers’ Federation (OSSTF/FEESO) offers our solidarity with the Black members we represent, students we work with, as well as staff members who work for the union. We condemn all acts of anti-Black hate, racism and discrimination.

The outrage, fear and pain that many in the Black community are experiencing because you do not feel safe, is clear. As an education and labour community, we must stand together and speak up when people are facing violence and discrimination because of their skin colour.

As an organization, we reaffirm our commitment to end anti-Black oppressions. We will continue to work to identify and address systemic discrimination and racism in publicly-funded education. We will continue to create space for these conversations to take place in our union and in our communities.

We will listen. We will learn. We will act. We must do our part in the work for racial justice and equality.

Election of Additional TBU Provincial Councillor
The results are in: Ryan Kelly has been elected as TBU Provincial Councillor.

Thank you to members for participating in the voting.

District Executive

The results for elected positions of the District Executive for 2020-21 are as follows:

District and TBU President - Shane Stagg
1st Vice President - Erin Crawford
2nd Vice President - Garrett Metcalfe
3rd Vice President - Richard McCormack
4th Vice President - Rob Walker
Treasurer - Nicole Bléau
Secretary - Laura Michaluk
Additional TBU Provincial Councillor - Ryan Kelly

AMPA Delegates: Richard McCormack, Art Hanke, Jacqueline Hill, Garrett Metcalfe, Paul Wayling, George Chaktsiris, Stephanie McMahon, Shane Stagg, Ryan Kelly

District 13 Office Hours During the School Closure

The District Office is following advice regarding social distancing. As such, the office will not be open during the school closure. We are still working and available for Members however. Please visit the contact page of our website for information on how to reach us.

Profile Sheet for Surplus and Redundant Teachers

To assist the joint staffing committee with placing surplus and redundant teachers, members are invited to complete a Profile Sheet outlining preferences for location and teaching assignment. Surplus teachers are scheduled to be placed by June 9th, and placement of redundant teachers will take place on June 17th. Any available permanent positions will be used to recall the most senior redundant teachers according to qualifications and the remaining teachers will be placed into LTO positions as available.


Educator Financial Group Bursary

Educators Financial Group is pleased to the announce the winners of this years’ D13 bursary. Congratulations to Paula D’Aurelio and Stanley Kment as this year’s winners. Thank you for everyone who participated in the contest and for your continued support. At Educators Financial Group we strive to enhance the financial literacy and wealth of our members whether you are approaching retirement or just starting a career. For more information please visit our website www.educatorsfinancialgroup.ca

OTBU Members and the COVID-19 School Closure

Information for OTBU members during the COVID-19 school closure can be found by visiting the OTBU link in the main menu of the District 13 OSSTF website.

TBU and District Annual Meeting - Postponed

The 2020 District Annual Meeting that was scheduled to be held on Thursday, May 7, 2020 has been postponed due to COVID-19.

Nominations for elected positions closed on April 9, 2020.

More details regarding the District Annual Meeting can be found in the February and March editions of Inprint which can be found under the Publications menu item at the top of this page.

Active Retired Members

Retired members can continue their OSSTF involvement
though membership with Active Retired Members.
Please click on the image to visit the website. 


The Ontario Secondary School Teachers’ Federation supports all of the recommendations put forward in the report from the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada. In particular, OSSTF/FEESO endorses all of the recommendations related to improving educational opportunities for all First Nations, Métis and Inuit (FNMI) Canadians, and the need to better educate all Canadians about the history and impact of residential schools.