Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation
District 13 Durham


District 13 OSSTF represents approximately 1450 permanent and 740 occasional teachers along with over 100 Professional Student Services Personnel in Durham region. Our union provides services to its members to protect them in their work and to enhance their professionalism through professional development workshops, health and safety training, collective agreement in-servicing and regular communications and public relations highlighting the teachers in our schools.

Land Acknowledgement

District 13 OSSTF is committed to providing space to honour Indigenous folks who were here on this beautiful land long before settler arrival.  We acknowledge that many Indigenous Nations have longstanding relationships, both historic and modern with the territories upon which our members work and our union operates.  We recognize the enduring presence of all First Nations, Metis and Inuit peoples throughout Turtle Island.


This region forms part of the traditional and treaty territory of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nations, the Missisauga Peoples, and the treaty territory of the Chippewas of Georgina Island First Nations.  We would also like to acknowledge that prior to these treaties, the land was stewarded by various communities including the Haudenosaunee and Wendat confederacies.


Our land acknowledgement does not function as closure, resignation, or acceptance of the structural conditions of settler colonialism that remain in effect today.  We recognize the impact of colonialism and our responsibilities to redress the ways this has helped shape the education system and our organization.  We also recognize the sovereignty of all Indigenous Nations as outlined in the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples and we are committed to honouring the Truth and Reconciliation recommendations.


To honour the Indigenous Peoples of this territory, we will take up our responsibility to be respectful of their traditions, knowledge and to care for this land and its waters for future generations.  We would like to thank all Indigenous Peoples for sharing this land so we may come together in a good way.

Joint D13/DDSB PD Day:

Please note that the 'Call for Proposals' for our November 17, 2023 PD Day are now open!

The proposal form can be completed using the following google form:

PD Proposal Form

If you plan to have a guest speaker, the following google form must be completed:

PD Guest Speaker Form

Our OSSTF/DDSB joint PD Day will be held on November 17, 2023. The theme for this year is "Evolving Classrooms - Voices in Education" with a combined  focus on curriculum and wellness. We encourage you to be a presenter. Presenters design workshops dedicated to the theme, however, all curriculum related workshops can be submitted for consideration.

We encourage everyone to think about the future of education and our role in leading the way in best supporting our students and colleagues. If you would like to present a professional development session, please complete the proposal form.  All proposals will be reviewed jointly by the District 13 Professional Development Committee and DDSB. Sessions must have curricular connections, support student learning, and reflect sound anti-oppression and equity pedagogy.

At this time, workshops for this day are anticipated to be in person, however, presenters should consider how their workshop could be delivered through a virtual platform if the need arises. The deadline for submissions will be September 27, 2023.
There is an opportunity for people who attend your session to provide feedback. Please make sure you print off enough feedback forms for your workshop.

Before submitting your workshop proposal please be sure to contact your principal to arrange a room booking at your school if you require a particular room as the presenter


District 13 OSSTF Women's Advocate Program

2023 District and TBU Annual General Meeting 

The 2023 District and TBU Annual General Meeting was held in-person at the Ajax Convention Centre on Thursday, May 4, 2023. The evening's agenda included a recognition of our new members, our retirees, our District executive and our branch representatives. The house conducted the business of the house which included elections for executive positions. The results for the District and TBU positions are as follows:

District and TBU President: Shane Stagg
1st District VP: Chris Davis
2nd District VP: Roger Gordon
3rd District VP: George Chaktsiris
4th District VP: Robert Walker
Secretary: Orit Orlovsky
Treasurer: Nicole Bléau
Additional TBU Provincial Councillor: Nicole Bléau

TBU AMPA Delegates: Nicole Bléau, George Chaktsiris, Chris Davis, Ryan Gallagher, Roger Gordon, Jason Himsl, Richard McCormack, Marcia McCrae, Garrett Metcalfe, Orit Orlovsky, Matthew Thomas, and Khogulani Yasodaran. 

Active Retired Members

Retired members can continue their OSSTF involvement
though membership with Active Retired Members.
Please click on the image to visit the website.